7th International Symposium on Motivational and Cognitive Control (MCC 2019)

MCC is an interdisciplinary meeting fostering scientific exchange of experts and young researchers on the neuronal and computational mechanisms of cognitive control, decision making, and motivation.

This meeting will be the 7th in a series of highly successful meetings that began with a meeting in Jena organized by Michael Coles and Wolfgang Miltner in 2000 and continued with meetings in Dortmund (Michael Falkenstein and Markus Ullsperger), Amsterdam (Sander Nieuwenhuis, Rogier Mars and Richard Ridderinkhof), Oxford (Rogier Mars, Jerome Sallet, MaryAnn Noonan), Paris (Sebastien Bouret, Mark Laubach, Jerome Sallet), and St Andrews (Martin O’Neill, Redmond O’Connell, Jerome Sallet, Steve Kennerley, Verity Brown).

The main goal of the present meeting is to bring together research fields and methodological approaches ranging from cognitive and systems neuroscience, experimental psychology, neuroeconomics, and computational modeling in humans, non-human primates and rodents. Bringing together this diverse group of researchers in an informal but science-focused atmosphere will allow them to discuss current opinions and novel methodological approaches in the field. Previous meetings have shown that this format can lead to highly productive collaborations.



Impressions of MCC 2019 in Berlin

opening          poster

Markus Ullsperger opening the 7th MCC                                                 almost 120 poster were presented during the

@ Langenbeck-Virchow-Haus                                                                   three days of the meeting

Discussion           Breaks

expert panel discussions shed light on topics of controversy                       ....and discussions continued during the breaks

questions          reception

the audience was engaged with questions and criticism                               the team behind the scenes


               Dinner Party @ Alte Pumpe

Important Dates

  • registration and abstract submission opens April 23rd, 2019
  • early bird registration available until June 15th, 2019 --> Closed! Regular Registrations still available.
  • abstract submission for posters until June 15th, 2019 --> Closed!
  • Decisions on acceptance of poster submissions will be sent in mid July.
  • MCC 2019: September 16-18, 2019
  • Satellite workshop on Advanced EEG analysis: September 19, 2019 --> Sold Out!

  • Confirmed Speakers

  • Roshan Cools
  • Claudia Danielmeier
  • Tanja Endrass
  • Birte Forstmann
  • Lesley Fellows
  • Adrian Fischer
  • Michael Frank
  • Pascal Fries
  • Thomas Goschke
  • Laurence Hunt
  • Masaki Isoda
  • Roozbeh Kiani
  • Nils Kolling
  • Rogier Mars
  • Yael Niv
  • Jill O'Reilly
  • Michael Platt
  • Christian Ruff
  • Michael Shadlen
  • Amitai Shenhav
  • Marco Steinhauser
  • Chris Summerfield
  • Valerie Voon
  • Mitsuko Watabe-Uchida
  • Jan Wessel

  • Organising Team and Contact

    You can contact us via this e-mail address: info@mcc2019.com.

  • Claudia Danielmeier (University of Nottingham, UK)
  • Tanja Endrass (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
  • Markus Ullsperger (OvGU Magdeburg, Germany)
  • Adrian Fischer (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
  • Hans Kirschner (OvGU Magdeburg, Germany)
  • Julia Rogge (OvGU Magdeburg, Germany)

  • Support

    MCC 2019 is supported by: